Incredible and fun facts to explore

Beef Tallow facts

While investigating facts about Beef Tallow Fries and Beef Tallow Walmart, I found out little known, but curios details like:

In 1935, to verify whether Coca-Cola was kosher, Rabbi Tobias Geffen was provided with its formula on the condition that he not disclose it. The Rabbi requested that the non-kosher beef tallow be substituted with a vegetable-based gylcerin, which was done, and the drink was declared kosher.

how beef tallow is made?

Before McDonald's switched from cooking its fries in beef tallow to vegetable oil, the fries had more saturated beef fat than their hamburgers.

What's beef tallow?

In my opinion, it is useful to put together a list of the most interesting details from trusted sources that I've come across answering what is beef tallow used for. Here are 12 of the best facts about Beef Tallow Uses and Beef Tallow Recipes I managed to collect.

beef tallow at whole foods?

  1. McDonald's Cooked their Fries in 93% Beef Fat (Tallow) until 1990, when they Switched to Vegetable Oil

  2. Because beef tallow and lard are unkosher, northern European "Jews turned to poultry fat as their cooking fat of choice; the overfeeding of geese to produce more fat per bird produced modern Europe's first foie gras as a side effect."

  3. Biodiesel can be made with algae, fish, and tall oils, as well as beef and sheep tallow, poultry fat, and pork lard.

  4. McDonald's fries were cooked in beef tallow but changed to vegetable oil in the 90s

  5. In the face of public health concerns in 1990, McDonald's switched from cooking their french fries in beef tallow to cooking them in vegetable oil. Strong public distaste for the new taste of the fries resulted in McDonald's stock price falling.

  6. McDonald's adds beef flavor to their fries and hashbrowns and that until 1990, they were fried in tallow.

  7. Soaps are typically made from animal fat, usually tallow which is rendered beef fat. This makes them non-vegan, so there is such a thing as "vegan soap" which is made from fats or oils of vegetable origin.

  8. McDonald's fries are flavored with beef tallow (meaning they are not vegetarian), even though they are still cooked in vegetable oil.

  9. Millionaire Phil Sokolof almost single-handedly forced McDonalds to stop using beef tallow to fry their french fries in 1990 as part of his personal crusade against high fat foods, causing them to lose their signature rich, buttery flavor.

  10. Charles Domery, a Prussian soldier with such a large appetite that in one day he ate "16 pounds (7.3 kg) of raw cow's udder, raw beef and tallow candles and four bottles of porter," all of which he consumed without vomiting, urinating, or defecating.

beef tallow facts
What to do with beef tallow?

This is our collection of basic interesting facts about Beef Tallow. The fact lists are intended for research in school, for college students or just to feed your brain with new realities. Possible use cases are in quizzes, differences, riddles, homework facts legend, cover facts, and many more. Whatever your case, learn the truth of the matter why is Beef Tallow so important!

Editor Veselin Nedev Editor